نبذة عن PEER

وفقًا لتقرير الاتجاهات العالمية الأخير الذي أصدرته المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في 19 يونيو 2019، وفي سابقة فريدة من نوعها، يوجد 70.8 مليون نازحًا قسرًا في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويزيد هذا العدد بمقدار 2.3 مليون شخص مقارنةً بتقرير الاتجاهات العالمية السابق الذي أورد أن عدد النازحين قسرًا كان 68.5 مليون شخص. ومن بين هؤلاء الأشخاص الآلاف من الشباب الذين هم في سن جامعية يبحثون عن فرص لبدء تعليمهم العالي أو مواصلته. وعلى الرغم من الفوائد الكبيرة لتعليم السكان النازحين، لا يزال التعليم في حالات الطوارئ من أحد أكثر القطاعات التي تعاني نقصًا في التمويل في مجال المساعدات الإنسانية، حيث يُنظر إلى التعليم العالي في أغلب الأحيان على أنه ضربًا من الرفاهية وليس من الضروريات. واليوم، لا يلتحق سوى 1% بالجامعة من السكان النازحين في العالم، مقارنةً بالمتوسط العالمي الإجمالي الذي يبلغ 34%. وبالرغم من ذلك، تتسم الحاجة للتعليم العالي في مناطق الصراعات خاصةً بالأهمية البالغة حيث تُعد ضرورية للغاية في إعادة بناء المجتمعات والحفاظ على الاستقرار. ويرتبط التعليم العالي ارتباطاً وثيقًا بزيادة الفرص، وتعزيز التنمية الاقتصادية، وتحسين الصحة العامة، وتوفير مجتمعات أكثر أمانًا. فهو يهب الأمل للشباب ويمنحهم الطريق الممهَّد صوب مستقبل يتصف بالاستمرار والاستقلال.

 

التعريف بنظام PEER

واستجابةً لحالات الطوارئ العالمية في نظام التعليم حول العالم، أنشأ المعهد الدولي للتعليم ‏(IIE)‏ مدعومًا من the Catalyst Foundation for Universal Education نظام التعليم للاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ ‏(PEER)‏، والذي يُعد مركزًا لتبادل المعلومات حيث يتيح للطلاب النازحين واللاجئين الاتصال بالفرص التعليمية حتى يتسنى لهم مواصلة التعليم العالي الرسمي وغير الرسمي.

أهمية نظام PEER

ويشهد العالم نسبة نزوح غير مسبوقة مع نزوح ما يصل إلى 20 شخصًا كل دقيقة. ومن بين هؤلاء مئات الآلاف من الطلاب الذين يدرسون في المرحلة الجامعية ويسعون إلى إعادة التسجيل بمرحلة التعليم العالي. لا بد من زيادة التعاون والتنسيق بين أصحاب المصالح في القطاعين العام والخاص للاستجابة لحالات الطوارئ المتزايدة في التعليم العالي وضمان حصول الطلاب النازحين بسبب الأزمات والصراعات المسلحة على التعليم الذي يستحقونه لقيادة حياة مستقلة تحظى بحق تقرير المصير.

 

تَبذُل الحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية والمؤسسات والمتطوعين جهودًا كبيرة لمساعدة الطلاب النازحين واللاجئين إلا أنهم غالبًا لا يكون لديهم علم بالمبادرات الموازية أو المماثلة المتوفرة في المجال نفسه. كما أن الطلاب يعرفون توفُّر المنح الدراسية والفرص الأخرى عن طريق المصادفة أو انتشار المعلومات بين الأفراد وغالبًا تنقصهم الموارد والمعرفة للتحري عن عمليات التقدُّم. ولسد هذه الفجوة، أنشأ PEER نظامًا شاملاً يُوفِّر قاعدة بيانات تحتوى على الفرص التعليمية والموارد الإضافية للطلاب. يتعاون PEER مع الشركاء لمشاركة المعرفة وأفضل الممارسات في مرحلة التعليم العالي في حالات الطوارئ وبناء القدرات داخل شبكة PEER وخلق فرص جديدة للتعاون بين شركاء PEER.

About PEER

According to the latest UNHCR Global Trends Report which was released on June 19, 2019, an unprecedented 70.8 million people are forcibly displaced worldwide. This number is up by 2.3 million compared to the previous Global Trends report which counted 68.5 million people as forcibly displaced. Among these people are thousands of university-aged youth looking for opportunities to start or continue their higher education. Despite the great benefits of education for displaced populations, education in emergencies remains one of the most underfunded sectors in humanitarian aid with higher education often considered as a luxury rather than a necessity. Today, only 1% of the world’s displaced population attends university, compared to the global average of 34%. However, the need for higher education is especially acute in places of conflict, where it is crucial in rebuilding societies and maintaining stability. Higher education is strongly linked to increased opportunity, strengthened economic development, improved public health, and safer communities. It offers young people hope and a path towards a sustainable and independent future.

 

What is PEER?

In response to the world's global education emergencies, the Institute of International Education (IIE) supported by the Catalyst Foundation for Universal Education developed the Platform for Education in Emergencies Response (PEER), an online clearinghouse enabling displaced and refugee students to connect with educational opportunities so they may continue formal and informal higher education.

Why PEER?

The word is witnessing an unprecedented level of displacement with nearly 20 people being displaced every minute. Among them hundreds of thousands of university-aged students seeking to reconnect to higher education. Increased collaboration and coordination between public and private sector stakeholders is needed to respond to higher education emergencies and ensure that students displaced by crises and armed conflict obtain the education they deserve to lead independent and self-determined lives.

 

Governments, NGOs, foundations and volunteers are undertaking great efforts to assist displaced and refugee students but are often unaware of parallel or similar initiatives in the field. Students find out about scholarships and other opportunities through coincidence or word of mouth and often lack the resources and knowledge to navigate the application processes. To bridge this gap, PEER created a holistic platform that offers a database with educational opportunities and additional resources for students. PEER engages with partners to share knowledge and best practices in higher education in emergencies, builds capacity within the PEER network and creates new opportunities for collaboration among PEER partners.